Rotary Wheel

 Wausau Early Bird Rotary Newsletter


August 10, 2017



Wausau Early Bird Rotary Challenge Statue



                        Speaker                       Invocation                  Greeters  

August 10        Beth Mueller                Gary Bezucha              Strasser, Utnehmer & Warsaw

August 17        Cindy Mueller              Greg Bardonner

August 24        Aaron Mull                   Jeff Zriny

August 31        Rick Nevers                 Amy Wood

September 7    Kyle Page                   Randy Winter                Weber, Weller & Werner-Schultz

September 14  Kalynn Pempek           Megan Will

September 21  Pat Puyleart                Travis White

September 28  Rick Reyer                  Rhonda Werner-Schultz

October 5         Dan Schaut                 Mary Weller                   White, Will & Winter

October 12       Mike Schlichte             Mary Weber

October 19       Jim Schulz                   Jim Warsaw

October 26       Patti Shafto-Carlson    Roger Utnehmer






Ken Moberg invited Tim Van De Yacht of the Ghidorzi Companies, who spoke about the new Hilton Garden Inn.




Beth Mueller has the program.  In her absence, Jim Warsaw has arranged for Marathon County Administrator Brad Kargar to speak about the new wheel tax.



  • For August 31st, it has been arranged on behalf of Rick Nevers for Colin Hanson of the “Walk in Their Shoes” organization to speak about past and future speakers for their program.  Thanks to Jeff Lindell for arranging this!

It is asked that members get their speaker information to Sheryl Hemp as soon as possible.


And…a reminder on speaker protocol…if you need to leave early, please introduce yourself to the speaker ahead of time and explain this to them.  Thanks!



  • Our own Rick Reyer to speak about WPR’s Centennial
  • All members are encouraged to consider giving presentations about their own professions



First Thursday of the Month: Gary France (Leader), Jim Warsaw, Patrick Kinney and Mary Weber


Second Thursday of the Month; Ken Moberg (Leader), Mike Schlichte, Jesse Maas and Greg Bardonner


Third Thursday of the Month: Nate Birchler (Leader), Jeff Zriny, Kyle Page, Cindy Mueller and Michael Matuszak


Fourth Thursday of the Month: Dick Jarvis (Leader), Pat Puyleart, Ann Lucas, Scott Brainard, Roger Utnehmer and Tim Strasser


Fifth Thursday of the Month: Mary Weller (Leader), Rhonda Werner Schultz and Beth Mueller


On call as needed basis: Aaron Mull, Dee Dunn, Mary Jo Lechner, Jim Schulz and Jean Burgener




August 8                Wendy from Mexico arrives

August 21              Never Forgotten Honor Flight Golf Outing

September 7          Board Meeting

September 11        Honor Flight

Sept. 16-17            Fall Fundraiser

Sept 29- Oct 1       RYLA in Manitowish Waters (our club is sending two students)

October 9               Honor Flight




All are reminded to fill out a President’s Pantry form when bringing in an item.  This will help keep a record for the annual dinner auction.




Cindy Mueller had the winning ticket.  She then picked a black marble.  Better luck next time. 




Welcome to our newest members Patti Shafto-Carlson and Chad Sickler. Farewell to Kevin Maloney.




It is announced that our fall fundraiser this year will be providing concessions at the Grand Prix of Wisconsin North American Powerboat Championship on September 16-17.  The event will be held at Bluegill Bay Park. 



  • To Nate Birchler for the recent invocation.
  • Many thanks to Nathan Birchler and the entire Board of Directors for their service this past year. 


  • Our Rotary club has sponsored the following groups and programs: The PAF, Honor Flight, Boys and Girls Club, Center Stage, Samoset Council, Hope Pregnancy Center, Meals on Wheels, Literacy Program, High School Scholarships, Radio Control Program, Celebrate Girl Scouts Banquet, Literacy Program at DC Everest, International flags, the Chart family, Women in Action, “A Walk in Their Shoes”, Good News, DC Everest Graduation party, The Grand, My Team Triumph, Walk In My Shoes, Talent Shop and the Forrest Goetsch Charity.
  • Dan Schaut presented Paul Harris Awards to JoAnn Draeger and Randy Winter.  Congratulations!
  • Ken Moberg was recently named the recipient of the Service Above Self Award.  Congratulations!

·        For anyone looking to make up a club meeting you can go on-line at Per Ken Moberg, it is easy and takes a short amount of time.




Board meetings will be held on the 1st Thursday of the month following our regular club meeting. All members are welcome to attend.




Please send any newsletter events, contact information changes, general information or ideas to Sheryl Hemp at Thanks!


Access the club web-site as managed by Rhonda Werner Schultz–  In addition, the district rotary web-site is, the foundation web-site is, and the general rotary site is